ICC Hall of fame – First list of players released!

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has just inducted a number of cricket legends into their very first hall of fame list. This move is part of the centenary celebrations planned by ICC and was well supported by FICA (Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations). Since, FICA was involved in the picking of players from the respective countries, there should not be much room for complaints.

The initial list (in the order of last name) of 55 players include the following:

Sydney Barnes
Bishan Bedi
Alec Bedser
Richie Benaud
Allan Border
Ian Botham
Geoffrey Boycott
Donald Bradman
Greg Chappell
Ian Chappell
Denis Compton
Colin Cowdrey
Kapil Dev
Sunil Gavaskar
Lance Gibbs
Graham Gooch
David Gower
WG Grace
Tom Graveney
Gordon Greenidge
Richard Hadlee
Walter Hammond
Neil Harvey
George Headley
Jack Hobbs
Michael Holding
Leonard Hutton
Rohan Kanhai
Imran Khan
Alan Knott
Jim Laker
Harold Larwood
Dennis Lillee
Ray Lindwall
Clive Lloyd
Hanif Mohammad
Rodney Marsh
Malcolm Marshall
Peter May
Javed Miandad
Keith Miller
Bill O’Reilly
Graeme Pollock
Wilfred Rhodes
Barry Richards
Viv Richards
Andy Roberts
Garfield Sobers
Brian Statham
Fred Trueman
Derek Underwood
Clyde Walcott
Everton Weekes
Frank Woolley
Frank Worrell

Rodney Marsh, the legendary Australian wicket keeper, was the first one to receive the commemorative cap that’s being given to the hall of fame legends or their relatives.

ICC will keep updating this list from time to time. Definitely, a number of players who are playing right now or retired hardly a few years ago should figure in there. Examples being Steve Waugh, Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Warne, Mutthiah Muralidharan, Anil Kumble, Glen McGrawth, Wasim Akram (I could pick another 50 easily) etc…

One Reply to “ICC Hall of fame – First list of players released!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *