Passport Seva Kendra – Exceptional Service Quality

13 Oct



Updated 26-Sep-2014:
Well, the post title still belongs to the old post! It’s unbelievable how things have taken a U-turn with respect to the PSK service since my last review more than three years ago. Yesterday, I had my passport renewal appointment at the Marathahalli PSK branch again and I had to spent exactly 5 hours before formalities were completed but not before witnessing some argument between officers and the frustrated citizens.

Although I have already explained the procedure earlier (scroll down), let me summarize the steps and problems faced at the PSK offices once again here.

Problems that you face at every Stage

After taking the online appointment and uploading the documents, the following are the stages that an applicant has to go through.

1. When you show up at the reporting time, you join a queue outside the building and the security person checks your printout with an ARN number to make sure that you belong to that particular time slot and date. This phase hardly takes 15 minutes assuming that you are reaching 10-15 minutes prior to the reporting time.

2. After you are allowed in, you join the one of the token counter queues where your documents – photo copies are quickly verified, a physical file is created and a token issued. There are separate queues for normal applicants, passport denied in first chance and senior citizens/women with babies etc. This desk is handled by TCS employees and your token is issued within about 15-20 minutes.

3. You now enter the waiting lounge which has reasonable number of seats for you to relax. There are minimal refreshments and water available here. This is an improvement area as applicants have to spend hours together in the building. From the waiting lounge, when your number is called out (as well as displayed on LCD), you enter the ‘A’ counter. Another improvement area is the way token number is coded. They are coded across several categories S, N, T, W etc and nobody knows why it has to be so. That has to be purely internal matter and not something that the common man should know. Further, there has to be audio announcement due to which people have to stare at the monitors for hours together. There is photocopying facility available here as well.

4. The ‘A’ counter is where you have to submit all your documents, old passport (if any) and a system file is created for your application. Your photo, thumb impressions and signatures will be taken here and majority of the system activities happen here. This is again handled by TCS and they have deployed 20-24 people in the ‘A’ counters. The process is smooth and pleasant TILL ‘A’ counter. You may spend hardly 10 minutes till here. So till ‘A’ counter, you would have spend a maximum of 30-45 minutes and you would naturally expect things to be completed in another half an hour BUT you are in for surprise!!!

5. ‘B’ Counter or verification counter: After, the ‘A’ counter procedures (TCS staff driven procedures) are over, you suddenly enter a place where you have to stand (another improvement area – very minimal sitting facility for about 20-25 people where as about 150 people are standing there). The number of ‘B’ counters are only 6 off which usually only 3 operates. This place belongs to the government staff who verifies all your documents, photocopies and passports and supporting evidence if any. Since about 24 ‘A’ counters suddenly converge into 3 ‘B’ counters, you can imagine the mess there. You typically end up spending 1 to 2 hours in this counter. It was two hours in my case! And sometimes, the staff – one person especially – even shouts at you if you miss your turn (which will be again inserted into the queue within a few minutes and hence none of his worry. He’s anyhow, not holding any physical file as you are doing it. Everything appears on his screen as per the token)

6. After your documents are verified, you move to the ‘C’ counters where passport granting takes place. There are four such counters operational and they are all manned by ‘very old government staff‘ who takes minutes together to do small things on the computer. As we were standing, one of the old ladies at the counter went for lunch to come back only after one and half hours. People literally shouted at her! This counter along with the ‘B’ counter is a huge improvement area. By the way, if you have a passport issued in Bangalore, instead of the ‘C’ counter, you will be sent directly to the Assistant Passport Officer’s cabin (AP01 counter) for faster approval.

7. AP counter: This is a relatively fast process as passports issued in Bangalore, will be granted pretty quickly for renewal. He’s a nice person and seems to be doing his job diligently without any fuss. However, to get your turn called at the ‘C’ counter or ‘AP’ counter, it takes about an hour (sometimes more) again. Your physical file is taken back at AP or C counters after approval or rejection.

8. Finally, you exit at the ‘Feedback’ counter where you will be issued a receipt for your reference and you wait for the police verification, if any and the passport to finally arrive. Surprisingly, the security lady there demands for a feedback and says ‘feedback’ is mandatory!!!

(New) Pain points – Summary

  • I am not sure why the process is still asking for two photocopies each of your documents in documents while they take only one set of copies. What a waste of paper!
  • While the photo quality taken at the counter is good, why not allow uploading of your good quality digital photo along with your online application? They have to verify it anyhow at the counter
  • Some of the government officers at the ‘C’ counter need to be replaced by young people. They are too slow for this job – further, there has to be backup available when someone go on leave
  • The token announcement must be available in audio and streamlined to call out just numbers not coded (as in S, N etc). Nobody can stare at the screen for 3 to 4 hours from weird angles while standing in that crowded office
  • More number of seats need to be provided at the ‘B’ and ‘C’ counters than the waiting lounge itself because that’s where you end up spending 3 or 4 hours.
  • I personally do not understand the need to have ‘B’ and ‘C’ as separate counters. Ideally, the government process should be done in one step as verify and grant. Looks like, it is maintained only for historical reasons or to protect certain job grades!
  • Provide an easy way to make corrections and typos. Although, I submitted the online form with corrected names, for the renewal of passport, they said they will continue with old names despite having supporting documents with me!!! Strange….
  • Aadhar validity: Biggest pain point. If you have got an Aadhaar card if you have cut it across the line as the government suggest to make it a proper card, beware! The passport officials will ask for the remaining portion of the Aadhaar to consider it valid for identity or address proof. That’s really height of it! Some people had to go back because of this issue

That’s pretty much cribbing for now. My knees are already swollen and paining after standing at the PSK yesterday for more than five hours…

The old post continues…


Today is an memorable day for me as a citizen of India. On this day, I experienced the best ever quality service possible from a government organization i.e. the Indian Passport application via the Passport Seva Kendra in Marathahalli Bangalore.

The Passport Seva Kendras are part of the pilot project by Ministry of External Affairs (MEA_, Government of India. This project aims to speed up and simplify the passport application process and is now available on a pilot basis in Bangalore and Chandigarh. Applying the passport online is better than ever before and I will tell you why.

The new smooth process of Passport Application – Online

The following is what I had to do to obtain passport, for my children, online.

Step 1: Go to India Passport Website and signup for a user account. Make sure that the Date of Birth of the applicant accurately – this will be matched against the appointment later.

Step 2: Download the eFile PDF application form and fill in your details offline. In the offline PDF form itself you can validate your entries and once you validate it you will get an XML file that you can upload to your account. In addition you have to upload the scanned copies of your address proof, date of birth proof etc. For every category of applicants (e.g. children under 15, NRI adult etc) there is online help available as to which documents are required to be uploaded.

Step 3: Once the valid documents are uploaded, take an online appointment for your nearest PSK (Passport Seva Kendra). In Bangalore, the Marathahalli Passport Seva kendra is supposed to be the best. You will usually get an online appointment within 10 days of uploading the application form and supporting documents but you also have the option of walking in the very next day.

Step 4: On the appointment date, be present 10-15 minutes before the appointment to first validate your appointment at the security gate. Remember, you DO NOT need to carry your photograph copies. After the appointment validation, you obtain a system token and wait in the lounge to be called. The token numbers are displayed on large LCD screens and that tells you the impressive speed at which they handle their customers. You ideally will not wait for more than 15 minutes before your number is called out. Move to the desk number – there are more than 50 of them and provide your photocopies there. If you forgot to take photocopies, you can obtain high quality photocopies in the lounge at Re. 1 per copy.

At this desk, you will pay the fees, take your thumb impressions and the digital photo. The desk assistant then will bundle all these together as a neat file and you have to proceed to the passport official who will check the originals against the copies.

As the last step, the grant officer (Assistant Passport Officer, I think) will grant you – or seldom reject – the passport. You can check the status of your passport application online as well. Before moving out they will hand over an acknowledgment to you.

Typically kids passports are sent o

127 Responses to “Passport Seva Kendra – Exceptional Service Quality”

  1. dinesh pandit 21. Jul, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    how i take appointment in Ambala PSK

  2. Krishnaa 18. Sep, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    The following was my experience at the PSK-Lal Bagh Road
    Please try to login using only using only Internet Explorer, as I noticed that Chrome etc don’t work for this.
    With effect from 17th September 2011, Normal and Tatkaal appointments as applicable will be released at 6 PM instead of 8 AM, No walk-in applicants will, therefore, be allowed except in emergency cases
    You should login at around 18.00 hours (6 pm) as they open the online booking at 18.00 hours Sunday to Thursday (as they do not work on Sat/Sunday, they do not open for booking on Friday and Saturday)
    Please take a print out of the Bar-coded, online submitted form receipt without fail and photocopies of all documents (should be minimum 1 year old from date of issue) like
    1. Online submission form receipt with Bar Code etc, Address proof (DL, Ration Card, Aadhar Card, Voter Card) (No need to upload any documents, you have to carry copies with you and also the originals without fail).
    2. ID Proof (PAN Card, Authenticated Bank Statement-with Bank Seal, and sign with your account details and branch details clearly shown-Minimum 1 year statement)
    3. Educational Certificates
    4. Annexure E if you want a modification in your name, like small correction in spelling etc. (I will upload this format separately also available in the passport booklet for Rs. 10/)
    5. Please avoid touts and others, the process is very easy and user friendly, Help Anna Hazare to fight corruption, do not entertain touts and others, thanks for supporting Anna
    5a. After the initial screening you will be sent in to the ‘A’ counters where your # will be called, if it takes an inordinately long time please ask the staff as you may have missed it when it was called, and they will put it up once again.
    5b. After the ‘A’ counters you will be passed on to the ‘B’ counters where again your number will be called and after further screening and verification/scanning of all original documents along with photo capture and finger printing/biometrics etc you will be sent to ‘C’ counters
    5c. After the final approval in the ‘C’ counters you will need to collect the acknowledgement from the exit counter without fail. This is mandatory no matter at what stage you leave the PSK (sometimes you may have to leave it at A, or B stage to get more documents, however, you need not book an appointment to come back once again on the same day or on another day)
    5d. They say that you will get the Passport in 15 days to 30 days by speed post/courier. I will update this post further at a later date.
    6. Please upload your helpful suggestions and experience in all Govt offices to help other new applicants, this is our way of giving back to society.
    7. My experience with the staff at PSK-Lal bagh road was very pleasant and though I spent the better part of the day for each of our applications along with my wife and two children I must say that the Government employees and the TCS staff and also the Security personnel were all very helpful and friendly and I congratulate the trainers and the staff who have worked tirelessly to provide this type of impeccable service when the demand is so high. The systems in place are excellent and on par with international standards.
    8. Please feel free to call 1800-258-1800 supposedly toll free for any enquiries.
    9. All above information is correct as on 17th Sept 2011, please check for changes and updates before you experience all this yourself

    • jatin rai 15. Oct, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

      tnx krishna fr ur valuable info..it was really helpful as i am also going to PSk ambala fr my passport…congrts to u fr this gr8 post.

      can u plz tell me that in how many days PSk ambala(@lal garh road) take to process and complete a passport applicaton as i want to have passport in 1.5 months. so should i apply normally or tatkaal ??? tnx in advance

    • Ajith 18. Oct, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

      Thank you Krishna for sharing your experience. It definitely helps the new applicants on what to expect and what might have changed since this article was posted.

  3. Venkatesh 16. Oct, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    How many photocopies (of each of the document required) did they ask for?

    For address proof, do they accept company HR letter on company letterhead?

    If I submit bank statement for one year and if that statement is around 30 pages long, is that ok?

    Thanks for the nice writeup. Very helpful.

  4. frusturated_citizen 18. Oct, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    The passport seva kendra is joke. Just before my job related business travel, my passport got damaged with water and i was advised to apply for a new passport. The idiotic so called “APO” was so short sighted and filled with ego that he kept saying “for damaged passport i cannot issue another passport in tatkal..what do you people think of yourself… and he went on with lot of things like that”. Actually it is ridiculous, they issue fresh passports under tatkal but for damaged passports where every detail is alright except for the staining of passports they refuse to issue the passport. no wonder india is in the dumps. the people who make the rules do not understand why they do and the people who need to understand and act fairly refuse to do so. i am sure india will be mired in this bueracratic red tape till the rule of the land goes back to some westeren powers.

    • VK 25. Oct, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      Hi,

      Sad to hear your experience. I was thinking of applying for a duplicate passport myself but after reading your comments I get a feeling I’m better off with the slightly smudged passport that I have and might just try my luck with the same.

      Could you please let me know how long did it take you eventually and which PSK office this was? (Coz I think they seem to be misinformed as the website suggests replacement of passports can be applied in tatkal).

  5. Deepthi 08. Nov, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I had applied passport one month ago,but the application status is showing like passport apllication under review even though i had submitted all the documents,i would like to know what it mean by?

    • siddharth 14. Feb, 2012 at 10:08 am #

      Hi Deepthi,

      Is there any progress regarding your passport. Even I am seeing the same status “passport application under review”

  6. Ashish 10. Nov, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Contact for Online Passport,P.C.C. Application Submission & Appointments.Call or SMS ur Email ID & Mobile No. at 09992055450.

    • Saurabh Upadhyaya 16. Nov, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

      I applied for my new passport on 09/07/11 from Head Post office, Auraiya (Uttar Pradesh-206122) with Speed post to Lucknow passport office Gomti Nagar with the Track Number of speed post EU804213325IN. I never got a file no. from RPO Lucknow, there is no information since then nobody responds phones which are given on website. My details are as follows :

      Name : Saurabh Upadhyaya
      Father`s Name : Sr. MP Upadhyaya
      DOB: 26/01/1984
      Passport Form No : 533383
      Speedpost Track No: EU804213325IN Date : 09/07/2011
      Draft No : 036951 Date : 8/7/11

      It is requested that kindly look into the mater and take necessary action to issue my passport at the earliest. I need my passport urgently.

  7. C.PRASHANTH 10. Nov, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    dear sir,

    i lost my pass port two days ago what is the procedure to get anathere pass port pls help me in this reagards.

  8. Ramakrishnan 10. Nov, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    It has become like booking tatkal ticket in irctc. I have been trying for last several days to book an appointment. The site doesn’t respond due to load and when i finally get access to the booking page, the appoint gets full.

  9. Prasanna K 12. Nov, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Yes i am also trying for so many days to get appoinment but i am not getting. The concept is really bad its not like first come first serve. Whoever having luck on the day will get appoinment that is really bad. Can anybody give me gud suggestion to get appoinment pls.

    • Krishna 23. Nov, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      Hey ….guys have patience for appoinment…io know this painful…but it works…i tried booking appointment three times..and in the 3rd change i got the appointment.,….but login to application around 5:50 and go to appointment booking page sharp 6PM….apart from this time you will not be able to get the appontment…and
      a word of advise…Dont go to those Agents (buggers)…you can get it online easily..
      Agents are demanding 1500 and 2500 for normal and tatkal appointment…
      Cheers !!!
      Krishna

  10. Nyjil Nazeer 10. Dec, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Excellent post..well done ajit prasad :)

  11. sachin 10. Dec, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Hi guys,

    I visited PSK, Lalbaugh road,Bangalore. But got very terrific experience. It seems full corruption is going on. What is ministry of External Affairs doing??? Are they blind or they are full corrupted??

  12. xyz 21. Dec, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Yeah….in their earlier days the PSK service and all… is good… and now … I dont think so… its corrupted I guess.. u find agents.. evn for online appointments… imagine how corrupted it is…

  13. Akshay 12. Jan, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    thanks. very useful..i am actually goin tomo…

  14. MIRZA 15. Jan, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    This new system of appointments is very very bad & useless. there’s no first come first serve basis. all the appointments are hogged by agents whose only work is this. Other people can’t do that. Whoever thought of this new system must be very foolish.

  15. Amit Katiyar 16. Jan, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    Hello,You have only completed 50% of the process by submitting the application and became fan of Krishna. I have felt same once i applied in June2010 but still my status shows verification sent to Police and passport would be dispatched after verication and belive me noone has any update.
    What is the use of such online system where i have to move to get staus from police station to SP office,/passport office.
    I am not sure if others face this issue but i am sure i not fan of anyone for such a nonsense process to get passport.
    Though its just renewal of short term passport that i fogor to renew within a year cause it has been permitted for one year only.

  16. Shyamsundar U.K. 19. Jan, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    We, husband and wife, both age 58 years, filled up our PP application forms and booked the appointments ourselves online at home, visited the PSK at Lalbagh Road in Bangalore on 17 Jan 2012, spent around 4 hrs inside, went through all the counters / stages smoothly. Found all participants, right through the security personnel to TCS staff to Passport officials, helpful. We are mistaken if we expect them all to give smiling service like in hospitality industry.. it is a huge quantity work, dealing with thousands of people every day and same sets of documents and monotonous machine operations. It is natural that they all keep cool face while dealing with us.
    Regarding online appointments, we found a trick.. try only for the late afternoon slots in your first attempt, and 9 out of 10, you will get the appointment.

    • Ajith 19. Jan, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

      Dear Sir,
      Thank you for that tip on getting the easier appointment slot in the afternoon.

      And as you rightly pointed out these people are dealing high volume of people and data and we need to anticipate some delay.

      Best regards,
      Ajith

  17. Shyamsundar U.K. 19. Jan, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Thanks for your acknowledgement. I have some more to share, if they are of any use. Wherever 12 month’s bank statements are presented as address proof, I found the TCS staff insisting on an accompanying covering / enclosure letter from the concerned bank on its letterhead. The reason being that mere computerised bank statements don’t carry complete details of the branch, address, Bank’s LOGO / security features etc.
    Regarding name change affidavits, I found the TCS staff clarifying to some that if the change is minor, ad in only one newspaper is enough; if the name change is a major one, ads in two newspapers are a must.
    I didn’t find such precise prescriptions on the Government Website, but they were insisting on the same.

  18. Irfan 25. Jan, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Hi,
    has any tried taking an appointment for Hubli passport seva kendra. I have been trying since 2 months. My parents were suppose to visit my brother, whose wife is preagnant. So he sent an invitation letter for visa and passport purpose. After filling all online process, m not getting appointment. Every day it says log in next day at 6.00pm, and every day i sit infront of computer exact at 6 pm. But again the same story. frustuated, now my brother is flying back to India with his wife. my parents have decided not to apply for the passport and always pray that next time they better be born in some other country, but not India.

  19. Raj 01. Feb, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Hi,

    It is very frustrating to get the online appointment, from past 15 days iam trying to get the appointment at differnt intervals of time including 6 PM many times.. till 6PM it will show pls try afet 6PM & after 6.05 PM it will show “Currently no appointment slots are available for the selected Passport Seva Kendra (PSK). Please try scheduling an appointment from 04/02/2012, 6:00 PM onwards”

    Minstry of external affairs issued circular to apply only in online for security resons or with the agent (you all know y agent?)… My question is what type of methods Minstry of external affairs really adopted in passport offices? to get any appointment itself the applicant need to keepon trying everyday @ 6PM or whatever the timing without knowing or sure of getting online appointment on perticular day..? why not this ministry give appointments on a perticualr day based on the application received, why they are causing this nuisance to applicants?

    Can the Minsitry or passport officials take any acation to provide better solution this problems? or they will still zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……………

  20. Sulaiman S 06. Feb, 2012 at 4:02 pm #


    My experience of getting an online appointment:

    Main Requirement: Patience

    1. Get two different browsers like Internet explorer and google chrome
    2. Logon to website at 5.50 PM in both the browsers
    3. Goto search page of appointment, select the PSK and be ready (Don’t click the search / book appointment button, sorry I don’t remember what was the button exactly called :-p )
    4. Now click the button at 6.03 PM, if no appointments are available, keep trying for another 10 mins, you will hit the jackpot.
    5. If you are unsuccessful in getting appointment. Follow the steps 1 to 3 for next few days. Good luck!

  21. jey 14. Feb, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    Hi Ajit, I need your advice pls. I have submitted online passport (reissue) for my wife for adding spouse name in passport through her login id. We didnt get appointment even though I tried from 6 pm to 8 pm non stop from two computers. Now I have for my wife’s application Annexure F(from Deputy sec of Heavy Industry) + 1 year SBI bank passbook of hers+Her Voter ID+Her old passport with the same address where we live in for more than 1 year till now. Now as we have submitted online tatkaal but didnt get appointment ,can my wife just apply in person for tatkaal with fresh passport application and walk in to nearest PSK ? . If this is not possible and only way is click click like every day 6 pm and try my luck then can I pay Agent to get just appointment (may be they employ many to click?) …Please help as I need her passport for applying passport for my baby (1 yr) as with both parents passport it is easy to get for the baby passport in tatkaal.

    • Irfan 14. Feb, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      hey jey,

      what u have faced is nothing. I have been trying every day 6 pm sharp from 2 different computers and 2 different web browsers. All i get is the message to try 2morrow at 6 pm. once i was lucky just to c the appoint page, the my bad luck …by the time clicked the appointment the page again showed the same thing. I have been trying tis since last 4 months. my parents are senior citizens and they wanted to go to Haj. After seeing my struggle my parents told me that they dont want to go to haj. They and my self have lost. I hav dropped the plan to get the passport. The only this myself and my parents pray is that next tine we bettr be bron is some good country like USA, where they care for citizens. I feel sad..they cant go to haj….if u need more info feel free to call me any time…

      Irfan (M)9916570555

    • jey 25. Feb, 2012 at 6:09 pm #


      I got it I got it I got it .here is the technique. Login from two computers (preferably to improve your chances with a friend’s support) and login at 5.58 pm .get to appointment page and keep entering picture display word and click appointment. you will get on top “please try after 6 pm on this date blah blah in red font” .Your concentration should to enter again picture display word giving no time for any gap (probably others get in through that gap) .You tell yourself until your eye sees a different page with appointment slots with 3 or 4 choices keep retry .Now once you see appoint slots with radio button and picture password again within no time click any radio button .Please dont enter picture password first at any cost as tcs software selects those who choose time slot (first in first get) .Now enter picture password (always keep caps lock on) and enter select. YOu would get your appointment at around 6.02 pm. There is no point in trying after 6.03 pm if your fingers are not that fast on a given day .hence practice the next day again… I did get appointment again for my baby passport in the next day . In 8 days exact I got my wife passport in taktaal and gave 100rs to the post man. I am so confident now that I can even help somebody in dire need just clicking game..I would recommend if you have kids who are good in video games to attempt as their reflexes are too good.

  22. Akhil Kumar 15. Feb, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    12.2.2012
    I had most pleasent experience at the PSK Sahibabad ( Delhi-1). Here, they let one person accompny the applicant In my case it was my mother. Very sppedy process for normal re-issue, we were out in less than an hour with post verification. Passport came in 10 days.
    Very professional staff.
    Great work Mr S M Krishna !!!

  23. BHARAT 23. Feb, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    I HAD TRIED TWICE TO GET THE APPOINTMENT BUT I IS REALLY HARD TO GET IT AS WITH IN 2 MUNITES ALL THE APPOINTMENTS ARE FULL REALLY DONT UNDERSTAND THIS.EVEN THE HELP SHOWS THAT WE CAN SEE APPOINTMENT AVAILABLE SLOTS FOR THE LESS THAN 30 DAYS AND NEXT 30DAYS . BUT DIDNT FIND IT.PLS HELP ME TO GET AN APPOINTMENT FRIENDS.

  24. Amit Katiyar 23. Feb, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Hello All,
    I am the one unlucky guy on earth who waited for passport for 8 months but when it came i just shifted to new house.
    I applied in June 2011 and moved from the house in 28Jan2012 however the passport arrived on 29th and postman returned it to the Passport office again.
    is anyone have any idea what to do now or how can i get back?
    Please mail me at amitkatiyar19@gmail.com

  25. Brijeshdatta 24. Feb, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    I’ve been trying to get an online appointment EVERY DAY for 2 MONTHS for PSK Gurgaon !!!! Sharp 6 pm I login ….. To get the same message…. “try 6 pm on so and so date”
    Have written email complaints… Spoken to call centre chaps…all to no avail.
    We are blessed to have the most inefficient corrupt and useless government in the whole world.

  26. Umesh 29. Feb, 2012 at 4:20 pm #


    Hi Guys , Yes it works .

    You need to try on two pc’s in parallel & Key is to start atleast 4 minutes ahead when the window is opened .

    It works & you will get it :)

  27. RENJU JOHN 01. Mar, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    Hi,
    last year i already applied for passport in Ernakulam division ,but at the time of police verification i was not there .ineed passport very urgent .can i apply in online service.
    please tell me the further procedures

  28. Ankur 02. Mar, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Hey Umesh…I tried what you told but still within 5 seconds all the slot were gone…Btw in how many days you got your appointment?

  29. gsp 08. Mar, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    About getting an appointment with Passport Seva Kendra online:
    Try on a 4mbps internet connection or higher speed connection on two browsers simultaneously. Don’t hit back or refresh. And don’t click twice. If there’s an error, just login again and try. But keep the process running on two browsers until you’ve gotten confirmation on any one. Also, login in exactly at 6. Not before.

    I have a good 2mbps connection but couldn’t get an appt for a few days. Managed to get it at a neighbourhood printer guy’s shop at 4mbps speed. Or maybe it was my firewall, who knows.

  30. rary 09. Mar, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    I appreciate the tips posted by all of you in this forum.
    Two question I have
    1. When to login? Someone says dont login before 6pm (or login exactly 6pm) and someone else says login 15 min. before and select PSK and wait and click a few seconds after 6 pm.
    2. Is it allowed to login same user from multiple computers? or should we register as different user and submit another application for same applicant ?

  31. jey 09. Mar, 2012 at 10:17 pm #


    6.02 pm is the exact slot opening time and either you get it or some one else gets it .No point in trying after that on that day if you missed it. Its a race and hence faster fingers first means either you practice from 5.55 pm or at 6 pm and keep entering picture password word again and again with retry until you see appointment page.Even now game not over.Click the radio button for timeslot and then if you get the booking message then its done.

  32. Rituraj 13. Mar, 2012 at 3:22 pm #


    Renewal of Passport – PSK Marathahalli..

    Posting this as the blogs / reviews from different users helped me get my passport renewed.
    I usually go through a lot of blogs / reviews before I walk up to any Govt office to help me understand the Do’s and Dont’s. Not always 100% but can definitely be of some help.
    Firstly – For Address Proof I feel voters Id is something that we all should have. We may not be from Bangalore but we can definitely get our voters id from our natives and have it registed to the current address and 1 yr rent agreement sufficed (in 2009) not sure how it is now. Voters id not only help you for address proof but also allows you to express your fundemental right and which I feel all of us must. VOTE.
    OK now with the PSK appointment and experience -

    Once documents uploaded try and log in around 5:57 pm and then move on to the schedule appointment page by 6:02 pm. Choose the afternoon slots (that is what i did and got it within 2 days after I uploaded the documents)
    - idea from one of the members here.

    PSK appointment was at 2:00 pm arrival time 1:30 pm but I reached early , by 12:00 noon as lots of my frens advised the queues are long…etc etc..
    However on reaching the center was advised the queue will start only at 1:00. No Laptops allowed inside.
    Around 12:55 people statred the queue and I could see some trying to jump the queue either because they felt they had appointments / were different from the people standing in the queue and had no patience what so ever.
    The security guards did a good job sending them away to the queue but I could see some being really persistent to break the queue.Advise everybody is there to get their work done so please follow the rules..
    Once inside a token is assigned but there is a standing queue again and it’s pretty messy.
    However once you get the token and enter the system is well set up.
    You have token numbers being displayed against the counters that you need to go to and someone shouting your numbers and also guiding you.
    Note= If you miss when your number is being called out you need to get a new token. So please be on the alert.

    By 4:00 pm I was out with the acknowledgement.Don’t forget to collect the acknowledgement forma at the exit.

    • Ajith 13. Mar, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      Thank you all for sharing your feedback and what worked for you with respect to appointments. Ideally, the Passport website or MoS should have had a discussion forum like this or better. But then they would have got trashed and spammed there by angry citizens :)

      I am glad that at least a few people are able to successfully get PSK appointments using the method that some commenters have shared here. Keep sharing your ideas that worked!

      Good luck…

  33. Deepak 14. Mar, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    What a pathetic way to get an appointment… The appointments should be sequential. Every entry should be ranked and given an appointment sequentially.

  34. bushra anjum meraj mohamed khan 10. Aug, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    Dear Sir/Madam,
    Myself BUSHRA ANJUM. From passport office GULBARGA KARNATAKA STATE I have applied for the fresh passport .
    the status cannot be checked online as the website shows no record in database.Police verification still not received.

    details as below:

    Application No: GXX7704
    DOB : 14/03/1989
    Applicant Name : BUSHRA ANJUM
    CONTACT NO : +91XX01781533
    E-MAIL ID : shahab_xxx@hotmail.com

    Kindly expedite the process and update the status

    Regards & Thanks,
    bushra anjum

  35. mashooq 31. Oct, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    sir mera apoinment date abhi tak nai aaya hai mera mobile no . 9125360756

  36. subhagha 04. Dec, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    sir,
    i got my passport issued on 22nd nov,2012.bt there is a small error in it.there is a space in my husbands name,instead of it being continuous.can u plz suggest me the way of getting it rectified.
    i dont have the login id and password,have misplaced it.
    plz reply me at the earliest.,sir.
    thanks

  37. MOHAMMED ABDULLAH TAMEEM ANSARI 13. Dec, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    respected sir or madam; i am MOHAMMED ABDULLAH TAMEEM ANSARI s/o MOHAMMED HAKEEK. sir my problem is i m received a slot on 5/12/2012 and i attended as per the time but it was terminated due to small mistake in my enrosment. what is my next procedure? will you u please help me? and the slot was allotted by broker to me. my phone number is 9030517895, 8977723415

  38. Chinmay 30. Apr, 2014 at 3:43 am #

    Hi,
    I am planning to apply for passport for my one month old baby in PSK Hubli(Karnataka). My wife and baby are in India and I will be in India till mid of May. When I try to book an appointment I am getting a date beyond May. I heard infants dont need appointment. Can any one please confirm.

    Also please confirm if baby’s presence is mandatory for passport application?

Leave a Reply